So how useless is your law degree?

It must be the time when exam results come out: exams are dumbing down, schools are failing, or, as in this article, a law degree is pointless. For a full range of reactions, the comments on this article are worth reading, but as someone who is currently in the middle of the anguish of “so what do you want to do when you leave school” I thought the article was particularly ill timed and the arguments not well articulated.

There are a couple of comments that are simply wrong. The first is:

“But the one thing a law degree is not particularly useful for is the practice of law.  In fact, it may well be the last degree one should do if the ambition is to be a practising lawyer.  There is little or nothing in a standard law degree which equips the average lawyer with the knowledge or skills of everyday legal work.  Most professional lawyers have had no need to look up a law report for years.  It would be odd that anyone actually paid to provide legal advice would ever read a learned journal article.”

I struggle to think of a practising lawyer who would not look up a report of a recent case, or indeed older cases. I do it all the time (as does my team, and my colleagues).

What I think is meant is that the law degree perhaps doesn’t get you beyond a superficial understanding of the issues involved. A law degree doesn’t teach you about the reality of legal practice, such as understanding clients, the reality of running a business, and of working with other people.

The second assertion that is simply wrong is:

“However, it is the non-contentious lawyers who suffer the most from wasting years on a LLB.  For example, hardly anything a commercial solicitor does draws on their academic studies.  The average contract law course for example tells one absolutely nothing about how to draft a clause or a schedule.”

The course may not teach students “how to draft”, but most courses will teach the basics of why contracts are drafted in certain ways. Most non-contentious lawyers need to have a firm grounding in “the basics” and that is what the LLB course should give them.

Behind the bluster though is a serious point. The business of law is changing fast, and there is a danger that those entering the LLB course think that the practice of law will look something like their experience in the LLB course. That is not the case. The LLB does not prepare students for the business of law. The business law is intensely commercial and highly competitive. But I would hope that most graduates, whether LLB or not, will know that. The real test comes in whether they can quickly adapt to life in the “real world” of law.

What do you think?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “So how useless is your law degree?

  1. Hi,

    I practised as a non-contentious lawyer for ten years. Of all the things I learnt in my law degree, I would say I used about 20% regularly, 10% rarely, and the rest never. Contract law and a bit of company and European law made up the bulk of the 20%. Family law, trusts, property law, international law, constitutional law did not form part of my day to day practice. If those issues had arisen, I would have asked a colleague who did practice in those areas. If I wanted to be a lawyer now, I would take a first degree in a subject matter which would have been most relevant to my client base – for me that would have been either a business/economics degree or a computer science degree. In my experience the conversion year for non-law graduates does the job in teaching the basic legal principles – I have never heard of anyone with an inferior grasp of the law in practice because they did a law conversion rather than a law degree. I have however come across many lawyers who clients loved because the lawyer understood their business, and their first (non-law) degree helped them do that.

    Hope that is a helpful perspective.

  2. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Many thanks

  3. Freelancing can аlso end in a giant “plus” regarding your income.
    Instead of having tto settle for the precise ѕalary thats offere by
    tһe one laԝ agency that you work, you have got quite a lߋt of leeway in setting your own paү rates.

    Thhis factor may eend սp in considerably more cash for yоᥙ.

Leave a comment